Jurow Competition Winners

The Historical Keyboard Society of North America is pleased to announce the prize winners of the The Eighth Mae and Irving Jurow International Harpsichord Performance Competition, which took place at the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music as part of the HKSNA 2016 Conference, March 21-24.

Eunji Lee (Korea), First Prize ($5000)

Jurow First prize winner Eunji Lee

Jurow First prize winner Eunji Lee

Patrick Merrill (USA), Second Prize ($2500)

Jurow Second Prize winner Patrick Merrill

Jurow Second Prize winner Patrick Merrill

Kyle Collins (USA), Jurow Prize for a Promising Semifinalist ($750, Mae and Irving Jurow, donors)

Jurow Prize WInner Kyle Collins with judge Jane ChapmanKyle Collins with judge Jane Chapman[/caption]

Other competition finalists were Joyce Chen (Taiwan), Sofija Grgur (Serbia), Sihyun Chun (Korea), and Myléne Belanger (Canada).

Longy School of Music early music professor Vivian Montgomery served as competition director and a member of the jury, which also included Jane Chapman (Professor of Harpsichord, Royal College of Music, London), Lisa Goode Crawford (Professor of Harpsichord, Emerita, Oberlin Conservatory of Music), Catalina Vicens (Ensemble Servir Antico, Basel/Leiden), and Hank Knox (Professor of Harpsichord, Schulich School of Music of McGill University).

The Jurow competition was established 30 years ago, with the generous support of Mae and Irving Jurow, in the interest of creating competitive activities for harpsichordists, since very few such opportunities existed in this country. The first competition was held at the 1982 Conclave in Tallahassee, Florida, and has occurred approximately every 4 years since. Karyl Louwenaar was its first director, followed by Charlotte Mattax until passing the directorship to Dr. Montgomery in 2010. The competition is open to harpsichordists under the age of 35 at the time of the competition.

Other contestants who were advanced from the recorded preliminary round to the semifinals were Loris Barrucand (France, unable to attend), Gabriel Benton (USA, unable to attend), Jennifer Bower (USA), Jean-Christoph Dijoux (France, unable to attend), Natsumi Fujita (Japan), Raphael Fusco (USA, unable to attend), Justin Murphy-Mancini (USA), and QinYing Tan (USA). The 12 semifinalists played for 30 minutes each, in 90-minute blocks, on Monday, March 21. Each of the semifinalists performed an improvisation upon a ground bass, selected by the judges from 4 possible grounds assigned. In addition, they played works by Handel, French composers (Duphly or Forqueray), and Italian composers (Scarlatti or Geminiani).
Finalists performed 50-minute programs on Wednesday March 22, each as continuo accompanist for violinist Julie Andrijeski playing Sonata Prima by Dario Castello. The contestants were also required to play one contemporary piece, chosen from 4 possible compositions, by Ligeti, Mike Vaughan, Alessandro Ponti, and Tim Watts. In addition, they performed Bach’s Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue, a Pavan & Galliard by John Bull, and works of their choice to fill out the 50 minutes. The prizes were announced at a reception following the end of the finals on March 23.